Animated chain either breaks or crashes blender

I’m quite new to Blender and wanted to try some simple animations. So I created a chain out of 30 links, activated rigid body to all of them (like in a YouTube tutorial), fixed the left most link and hit the Animation button.
Since my computer probably isn’t the best for 3D animation it took quite some time between each step of the animation, but at least I could watch the right side of the chain to fall down and dangling from the fixed left most link. But somewhere in the middle of the animation, my chain broke up as if one of the links couldn’t bear the weight of the other links.
I googled a little bit and someone said, that the physics simulation in Blender behaves oddly when measurements and/or weights do not fit. So I checked my chain and realized that each link of my chain had a radius of 1 meter.

So I deleted my giant chain, and created a new one, with each link of the chain having a radius of 1 millimeter (I try to create a chain necklace). And with such small links I turned down the weight of each link in the rigid body settings to 1 gramm (seems to be the minimum).
My new chain has only 10 links to speed up the animation.

But now, when I hit the Animation button, nothing happens, and when I click into Blender agian, it turns white, and nothing happens anymore. It seems to be crashed.
I tried to turn up the weight of each link in steps to 100g, but the Animation still crashes Blender.

Of course the shape of each link inside the rigid body settings is set to Mesh.
Oh, and my Blender version is v2.81.16

So, what am I doing wrong? The attached blend file is the one crashing when trying to animate.

chain.blend (2.5 MB)

First off, I’m not really a sim guy and I didn’t really dive into how to do physically correct simulations in Blender, I was just curious why the scene was crashing.