Animating a cable?

So… I’m a noob, I know. I did a few searches on the forums here and didn’t come across anything… maybe I just missed it.

I’m wondering how I could animate a cable, or a cord in blender? For example a steel braided cable, or an interlinked metal water hose?

I’ve seen softbodies mentioned, but I’ve never used them.

Any insight into how to “animate” cables would help me out a lot… I’m not really sure how to go about it (as with a lot of other blender topics).

Thanks

austen:ba:

Maybe this will help you http://www.mifth.narod.ru/tuts.html

I could suggest making a Bezier Circle, name it “cable” or something. Move that to Layer 2 ( press M then 2 )

Then create a Bezier Curve and in the edit options under BevOP: enter in “cable” and it will make a nice smooth cable. You can divide the curve into as many points as you like.

Like the tutorial above shows, you’ll need to make hooks for each point. Just select a point, press Ctrl+H to make the hook, then Ctrl + P to parent the vertex point to the hook.

What is the cable doing?

Softbodies on curves are good - if the cable is being held anywhere (IE at one end or both ends), then softbody all but the end verticies.

If it’s a short cable between two objects, you may do better to just attatch the end vertices to each object, and not bother with softbody.

You might want to sceliton-animate the cable.

Here is one way. Move the empties at each end of the cable and it will move.

Attachments

FlexHose_Dynamic.blend (398 KB)

Thank you all for your help! I’ve been experimenting with a few different ways to do this, but i’m still having problems. (big surprise)

Atom - Your solution is exactly what i need, but can you explain how you did it? I’m a noob and trying to reverse engineer your blend only got me more confused. What are all the hooks, how do you set them up? I looked at the other tutorial that was linked but it was too vague and didn’t provide too much help.