Animating a circumstellar disk

Hi!

Does anyone have some hints how to model a circumstellar disk, similar to e.g. here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ul4qDHsYzC4&feature=related

I’d like to do it with particles orbiting in a force field, but I don’t know how to set up orbiting particles.

An alternative would also be a disk similar to the fly through here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65921QbIPVo

How do I set up these “density fluctuations”?

Thanks a lot for your help!

You could try making a torus with a cloud texture affecting the density of it. And then using IPO curves to animate the texture.

I just started playing around with Fluid sims, and it strikes me that a high-viscosity disc-shaped controlled fluid set up in “whirlpool” fashion might give you the differential rotation you need. Then you could convert that to shape keys and use the resulting animated mesh as a particle emitter using halo-type particles for the “dusty” look.

EDIT: That is, if the Fluid sim can be converted to shape keys like cloth & SB can – still experimenting with that.

EDIT2: Can’t get the differential rotation working – the fluid objects seem to react to a control mesh’s translation but not rotation, and rotating the domain is a solid-body motion, no fall-off with distance from the center. But some of the effects I’ve been getting are interesting so I’ll keep experimenting.

Thanks a lot for your ideas!

I’ll try them out as soon as I can. But I got to go to work now. :no:

I’m rendering up my first shot at this overnight, should have something to see tomorrow. It’s not perfect but a start.

I know this may seems odd, but this icing file looks kind of like the example in the first video. Perhaps it can be used to make that initial shape?

I am quite interested in the shapekeys concept you mentioned. I did not know that you could convert a fluid sim to a single mesh with shape keys?

Attachments

icing3.blend (155 KB)