Animating a human hand for use in UE5

Hello,

I would like to animate realistic human hands in Unreal Engine 5. The hands should be able to perform various complex poses in real time on external input.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with animations so far. How would you approach this topic systematically?

Many thanks in advance.

If you have no experience in animation, I would say the most important thing is to have video reference of whatever you are animating, especially if its for a character. Film your hands doing the action. Then, try replicating the poses and timing in Blender.

I would try importing the video on a plane, that way I can easily compare the animation with the reference frame per frame. Every few frames, copy the pose from the video (no need to be pixel perfect or to do it on top of the footage, it’s mostly for the timing and the rough pose).

Once you have completed this task, go back and fix any mistake in the animation such as the character clipping through objects, or for an entire character, feet sliding on the floor. Also make sure the limbs move in smooth arcs and not in jagged linear trajectories like a robot.

2 Likes

Thank you for your answer.

I think I have not made myself clear. The animation of the hands is done in real time. So I have no influence on the speed of the animation. This parameter is determined externally.

How would you approach this topic?

• Model and texture the hands in Blender.
  • Create the rig for the hands in Blender.
  • Create the individual poses for the hands in Blender. (Or directly in UE)?
  • Export to Unreal Engine?
  • Have a programmer make the connection between the data coming in externally and the corresponding poses?

Going by what you are writing, it sounds like you have little experience in this kind of task. I can try explaining it, but what you are trying to do is not a begginer’s project and I can only help to a limited extent if you don’t know Blender or Unreal well.