Animating a still image

Hi,

I am somewhat new to Blender, however I do have basic skills. I wanted to ask if there is anyone who can help me? I would like to take a jpeg image which I have imported (it is a picture of leaves from the top of trees,) and animate the leaves and branches as if they are blowing in the wind.

Hi;
In fact there’s two methods for animating an image;
I’ll just tell you about the easiest;

1- Create a plane;
2- Subdivide it about 64 splits;
3- unwrap it;
4- Now, you have just to animate the UV-Coordinates;
5- Render it.

The 2nd require some manipulation using GIMP to remove the leaves but keeping the background, then creating an alpha mask or just a masked image, now you have to images (the masked one and the background), then you have to do the steps above but only animate the masked image (not the background), that’s it.

Good luck! :slight_smile:

Make a textured plain.
Animate it using shapekeys.

As a side note, set your material to ‘shadeless’ so your animated image doesn’t end up with wrinkles and shadows from overlap.

stills I’ve animated with shape keys. although I had uniform vertex dispersion?spread? If I did that today I would follow the face topology of the person more accurate. it was more or less a test. wanna do this with live footage when the tracker hits svn.

but for now these are animated stills w/ shapekeys.

https://vimeo.com/15134948

you can take it further and model the 3d environment from the 3d still, project the texture and move camera, I’ve done some stuf on it but haven’t uploaded to vimeo. but here’s someone else work.

by : Sander Wit

blender work.

Just to add to the ideas and options.
You wrote the you are somewhat new to Blender.
It helpful to know if you desired quality is hi, med, lo. Drama or Comedy. Quick results or 3 Month timeline.
Is original photo be the central focus via a texture?
You may consider all, some, or no options.
It appears you do NOT want to model everything from scratch.