Animating Armor

Hi. So I’m new to animating characters in blender and so have been going through a rather steep learning curve over the last couple days. I am currently working on making a some concept shots for a mock live-acted trailer of Full Metal Alchemist. If you know about this series you will probably guess that which character will be CGI. Alphonse Elric, a living suit of armor. The model for Alphose is done and most of the rigging is in place. However I’m having problems with keeping the segments of armor from intersecting. To avoid the bones from deforming the armor I have parented the individual plates to empties that are then parented to the individual bones. Also to make matters more complicated, beneath the armor is a “leather” suit to fill in the gaps. This in turn IS deformed by the bones and so at times also passes through the armor mesh when it is animated. I have been looking around online for tutorials and as of yet have not found anything about how to fix this. If you can clue me in or give me ideas I will forever be in your debt. I also plan to post the blend file for those that would prefer to take a look at it.

Not sure why you’d use empties, but here’s how I’d do it (see attachment for reference):

• Create 4 bones, one for each of the numbered parts (except 5).
  • Parent the Mesh to the Armature, don’t create any Vertex Groups yet.
  • Select the vertices of a single ‘segment’ (#1-4) in Edit Mode.
  • In Weight Paint Mode, select the bone associated with that segment and press ‘F’ (toggle Mask).
  • Set your Weight to ‘1’ and paint just a little bit (this creates the Vertex Group).
  • Press Ctrl+K to fill the entire Mask area so that the segment is fully bound to the Bone.
  • Repeat for segments 2-4.

The armor pieces are now rigid and won’t deform. You can then set constraints or lock properties on each bone to prevent any weird deformation. I.e.: Lock the ‘Pos’ on all.