Animating extrusions ??? Help :)

Hello all:
I am fairly new to Blender but have followed through on a couple of tutorials online. I have a project that is a 2d floorplan of a house. I would like to animate the walls growing out of the 2d floorplan (extrusion) but can’t seem to figure it out. Could anybody give me any tips?

I have tried adding a cube at frame 1 and inserting a size key. Then at frame 50 extrude it upward adding another size key and doing al-a but it doesn’t work.

I can do a work around by building it then animating a plane moving down it but wanted a more elegant solution.

Thanks for any help.

Hi and welcome.

Not quite sure but I think you mix up two things.

Extrusion (E-Key) is a modeling tool that and can’t be keyframed.

Scaling (S-key, restricted scaling with S-key +MMB, or N-key for numeric input) is a method that can be keyframed and refers to the Size key frames.

Therfore, to animate the grow of a plane you would have to set i.e. SizeZ =1 in frame 1 and SizeZ=5 in frame 50.

The scaling method should look ok for walls without windows.
Probably best is to set the center point (small pink sphere) to the bottom of the mesh before scaling (in Edit mode select a vertex of mesh’s buttom, Shift+S --> cursor to selection, Object mode --> center cursor). This way the walls will only be scaled in one direction of the axis (with restricted scaling).

For walls with windows this could look a bit odd.

In this case an animated blend --> Lin, Quad, or Ease texture for the alpha value of the wall’s material could be better.

A third method could be the use of a Build Effect for a highly subdivided wall mesh.

Hello there!

I think the answer to what you’re trying to do is RVK’s or “Relative Vertex Keys.”

It works like this (in VERY basic… do a search here for RVK tutorials and you’ll get some good stuff). 2.28 Blender has a new method for doing this that saves you the steps of turning on “Relative Keys” and deleting the “speed” curve, BTW.