Animation - Best Practices

I have been using Blender for everything - EXCEPT animation. Well, other than simple animations, non character animations. Am I right in assuming that RVK, or the new shapes, are the way to go for facial animation and armatures for the rest? I have not been able to find any rigs done with 2.4’s method. I am not experienced enough to rig my own yet. I have been able to use the new widget script and I can create shapes. Does anyone have a basic tute that is inline with 2.4? Thanks.

Rob

I’d be interested in any 2.4-specific rigging tutorials as well. I’ve searched all over, but haven’t been able to find any “Blender 2.4 Rigging for Idiots” or other guides anywhere.

Rigging tutorials for the new system are still hard to come by but this page offers a ood example of driven shape keys (move one object to affect the shape of another) and a little insight into armatures (although its armature isn’t animated.)

http://orange.blender.org/blog/licence-to-drive

This is the actual test file:
http://orange.blender.org/wp-content/themes/orange/images/blog/controller2.blend

Click on the little round things in the geometrical shapes and move them a little to see the result in the face. Basically the head has had RVKs set and then each key has a driver added to it so that when this driver object is moved, it has a varying effect on the shape displacement. Hard to explain in words, not so hard to grasp with a bit of playing around. (Maybe you already know all this stuff)

There are some videos fromthe conference here:
http://www.blender.org/cms/2005_Videos.714.0.html

One of these [46Mb] discusses the basics of armatures in the new system.

The animation forum here has gone quite dead in the last fortnight so hopefully some of the experts are busily writing tutorials for us :slight_smile: Note that old armatures will open in the new system and take on the new features like shaded views and colour codings.