Animation Challenge 20 - Waves [animation] [Update Again8/8]

Hi all! I have been working hard to learn the animation system so far, and I noticed the animation challenge #20 was themed “Waves”, so I figured it would be a great way to learn quickly (crash course methodology :wink: ).

So, I am a bit of a newb with animating, and figured this should be fun. I know that there will probably be a million entries with ocean waves ala Cog, but I had to give it a try anyways:

Opening scene (1.2MB)

There is more to follow this, and I am pretty finished with the scene overall. I was just looking for some feedback to see if I am heading in a good direction, or if i am just barking up the wrong tree altogether…

As a side note, I just realized that this render does not have my tiller in it (stupid… forgot to turn on that layer).

In particular, I am looking for feedback regarding the lighting. The environment will have some storm clouds, and the lighting is supposed to be a full moon clear over the ocean.

Originally I just had a single light source, but after rendering the boat and occupant was cast in heavy dark shadows, plus there was no definition on my sail (the “other” wave per the theme, though i think it may be lost on most…). So, I added a lamp to help fill in a little bit of the scene without detracting from the overall lighting mood. Hopefully it is just enough to fill out definition of the sail and occupant a little.

Also, there is a small lamp in the boat (the orange light), but I am not sure if I like it or not. I kind of like the contrast of color and drawing the eye to the solitary passenger, but i’d like to hear what you all think.

I know its dark, but the next scene has the camera approaching from the front of the boat and drawing up close to a view of the occupant from the waist up to setup the tension for the scene (in case you haven’t guessed it yet, a large tidal wave…).

Sorry this is so long!