Animation Jittering (Probably something about IK)

Hello, I’m rather new in animation.

I have noticed legs in my runing animation jitters when I parent camera to hips if I don’t do that it looks much smoother but it’s still there.

I experienced ik bones tend to jitter when they are fully open but this seems different.

Also slower animations like walking seems fine and smooth. Animation is still a rough one, I didn’t polished it, but this amount of jitter makes me think I’m missing something or making something wrong.

I feel like it’s about IK bones but why does walking animations are fine i can’t really understand
Anyone has experience with something like this? Jittering is after 00:12

I’m not quite sure but it may be famous IK issue like pop ups of knees when hips are going too far from feet and back. Sorry for my English - hope you understand. Best way to fix this behaivour is to use “soft IK” chain. At least for me it solved most problems with IK chain. Using “soft IK” will slightly scale your IK chain in Y axis when hips are going “too far” from feet, but you won’t have any popups\jittering - animation will be very smooth. Hope this helps. This is DanPro tutorial how to build soft IK limbs:

1 Like

Angle limits are most common source of IK jitter-- in Blender, it’s best to avoid them.

Your video, the main thing I notice is the hyperextension of the lower leg-- following full extension, the knee bends backwards. Getting IK to do this is normally pretty hard, but if you have poorly placed bones, that don’t really match with the mesh, you can do it accidentally, at the cost of some twitch. So that’s the first thing I’d check out.

1 Like

Thanks for the help. I remember trying angle limits at one point and it was beyond my control, so i removed them. If angle limits are what the right side of the picture is then i guess it is not the issue.