Animation problem

Hello,

If this problem has already been asked, I’m sorry.

I am new to Blender but know quite some things already :wink:

One problem I am having is while animating with key-frames, sometimes if for example I have a search-light moving over the ground, and then I have a moving camera,

When I move the camera and make some new frames, the lamp starts moving strangely around the screen…

If you don’t know what I mean I will try to explain it better, thanks

SeBsZ

yes, a better explanation would be good to understand your problem… the only association i have when i hear “strange movement”, is, apart from “strange animation” the fact that IPO curves tend to “distort” movement if keyframes are placed too closed together AND the values are far apart. to check that, change any 3D view to an IPO view (SHIFT+F6) and select the object you’d like to inspect. you can select individual curves (locX, locY etc.) and enter edit mode, much like object edit mode, with TAB. here you can select and manippulate individual points (keyframes) and change their value and position in time. some useful shortcuts:
SHIFT + S >> Horizontal flattens your tangents; V, H change the incoming/outgoing interpolation to corner, bezier corner or bezier smooth (multiple H). experiment a little.

hope that helps, if not at least you may have learned something new abt. the IPO window :slight_smile:

Thank you for the reply,

With strange movements I meant an object increasing in size and it going up and down…

I have a light, spot light, that I have rotating so the ‘halo’ thing moves across the ground. You understand what I mean. Although I only added rotate animations, it suddenly moves up and down, the whole lamp, and it is scaled and it increases in size, all those funny things.