Animation Wrong Codec?

Im a little new to blender and I created a short (500 frames) animation. I renderd the first like 5 frames of the animation, then stopped it.Then checked just to make sure that it was working correctly, and it was. So then I renderd the whole thing, but as soon as I clicked on my video a message poped up saying " Windows cannot play the file. The player might not support the file type or might support the codec that was used to support the file" Do I need to dowload some codec for long animations, or should I not use AVI Raw? I just dont want to render 500 frames of stuff then at the end find out it doesnt work agian.

This comes up time and again. AviRaw is only there if you want to do any post processing in the compositor as it is lossless. You would then do the post process and output using a different codec.
Always render out as a lossless image sequence to prevent loss of data if blender crashes in the middle of a render. You can then output this as something like a quicktime or xvid movie that windows can play
From http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:Manual/Render/Output_Formats

Free Advice
Choosing which format to use depends on what you are going to do with the image. If you are going to

email it to your friends, use JPG
combine it with other images in post processing and simple color/alpha composition, use PNG
use nodes to simulate depth of field and blurring, use EXR
composite using Render Passes, such as the Vector pass, use Multilayer.
If you are animating a movie and are not going to do any post-processing or special effects on it, use either AVI-JPEG or AVI Codec and choose the XviD open codec. If you want to output your movie with sound that you have loaded into the VSE, use FFMPEG.