Anime style Aura Tutorial

Hi, Thanks for reading my Anime style aura tutorial.

I have been teaching myself how to create various different types of anime style aura for a few weeks. It has been slow progress for 2 reasons, firstly, baking fire/smoke sims takes a long time, and learning involves, lots of tweaking and re-baking. Secondly, there are not that many tutorials on the subject. And being relatively knew to this sort of thing meant a lot of trial and error.

That being said, I have managed to created a few different aura’s that can all be tweaked in different ways to create different effects. So think of this as a sort of starter guide that you can use to get the basics of a few of the ways I have discovered to make auras, then you can change them to suit your needs. In all of these effects I and using Eevee in Blender 2.8 and have bloom turned on.

Since I am still learning, if anyone has any suggestions or improvements to these methods, please do share it here, as it helps everyone to learn.

Fire aura

This one is the most resource intensive, if you don’t have a great rig then be prepared to make a lot of coffee as you wait for baking and rendering. Turning on high quality and more divisions will increase baking and rendering times, but will give better results.

All you have to do for this one is to select the mesh you want to emit the aura, and use quick smoke on it. Then use these settings on the domain and emitter, and this material on the domain.

You can change the color or add a texture to the smoke to change the effects. If you want to change the direction of the aura, then you can use a wind force or turbulence generator to push it in the direction you want, however if you do this you’ll also effect the emitted particles direction unless you turn down its reaction to wind.

For the rising Particle, just set the mesh you want the particle to emanate from and use the following particle settings.