Anime style Open Movie project done with Grease Pencil - I would love your input

Hello everyone, my name is Gilles charbonneau, I am a senior 2D, and 3D animator from Montreal Canada.

Although my bread and butter has been 3D animation in the last 20 years or so, I am a 2D animator at heart, I have been using Moho/Anime Studio for my 2D work since 2006, I have a Moho/Anime Studio blog and YouTube page.

Gilles Charbonneau - Anime Studio Tutorials and Articles
Gilles Charbonneau - YouTube

I have been using Blender for my personal 3D projects for about 6 years now, I love it, and the 2.80 beta rocked my world, especially the new Grease pencil tools, so my plan is to switch from Moho/Anime Studio to Blender 2.80 for my 2D work.

I have a script I wrote a few years back that I believe would be perfect as my first major Grease Pencil movie project, it is the story of a bounty huntress who goes after the mad scientist who saved here life, it has a strong steampunk and Anime feel to it, you can download the script in both English and French.

Steampunk Bounty_EN.pdf (29.9 KB)

Steampunk Bounty_FR.pdf (30.3 KB)

In the spirit of Blender and open source, I would make this an open source project, I would also make Blender video tutorials that relates to 2D animation in Blender.

I would like to know if this could be of interest to the Blender community, because for me, Open source equals community, one just can’t go without the other, so, I would love to have your thoughts on such a project !

Gilles

3 Likes

Nice project. Are u planing to use 3d for environment and 2d for characters? I am interested in knowing why u have opted for 2d animation for characters rather than 3d. I am guessing 2d is more free and expressive and 3d would take a lot of time creating the assets?

1 Like

Hello Melvi!