Another Hardware/Build Question

I am getting more and more into modeling and animation. I am new to Blender, but not 3D modeling (Fusion, Inventor, Solid Edge, SolidWorks). My current computer is really starting to show its age (i7-4790K, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960). I use this computer for everything from day-to-day office and database work, some gaming, and everything graphics (2D vector and raster, and 3D modeling, texturing, rendering).

For my new build, I am lean towards AMD, considering the difficulty getting 3080ti or 3090 GPUs (and the price gouging).
Threadripper 3990X or 3970X
Radeon Pro W6800
64GB RAM

There is a lot of…fanboy and gaming comparisons between Nvidia and AMD (and Intel vs. AMD). I know that Bender 3.0 has support for AMD Pro GPUs, but will Blender make the most of my build? OR am I better off going with something like an i7 (11000 or 12000 series) and an RTX 3070ti?

Is all of the extra money going to provide excellent (even if not superior) performance for at least the couple of years? Just looking for some insight from experienced workstation users vs gaming rig users.

Your current intel CPU has acceptable single thread speed, and is relatively similar to those Threadripper CPUs. In other words, with Threadripper in many areas of Blender you will have similar performance to the one you currently have. Due to many more CPU threads, with Threadripper you would get much better performance for example in Cycles renders with CPU and physics simulation processing. But If you have in mind to buy an nvidia RTX card for rendering, perhaps you should go for a CPU with much better single threaded performance than Threadripper (16 to 32 threads). Much faster single thread speed will compensate in part for less thread count compared to Threadripper:

1 Like

The best combination of hardware parts for Blender users (and many other 3d apps) at the moment we speak would be an Intel 12000 series cpu with the best possible nvidia gpu one’s money can buy.