Another old man sculpt

(Larssonklaksson) #1

Hi

This is just a little sculpting excercise.
I could really use some feedback as to what should I improve on the head before I turn off the symmetry and proceed with the finishing details like wrinkles etc.
Any hint would be appreciated.
Thanks

(alf0) #2

nice work!!!

(yakuzakazuya) #3

Looks great to me. :+1:

(Larssonklaksson) #4

Thanks guys for the encouragement. I will attempt the retopo then. It will be the first time for me so we’ll se how it will goes. By the way, seems like the Bsurface addon hasn’t made its way to 2.8 yet, so it will take a bit more manual work.

(grumpyestonian) #5

This looks really good! I’m far from an expert, but the anatomy looks very convincing to me. I do have a few suggestions, if you don’t mind. Hopefully you haven’t gotten too far into retopo, although these may be fairly easy fixes that could even be done afterward.

1. I think the eyes may be placed a bit too low on the head. This would include the eyebrows and bridge of the nose. The mouth and tip of nose look right.

2. Honestly, I think the ears still need a lot of work. There is a big difference in accuracy and quality between them and the rest of the face. Ears are notoriously complicated and hard to figure out. (Just wait 'til retopo on those…) Reference, reference, reference. That’s the best advice I can give for that.

3. The eyeballs appear (to me) to be sitting too low in their sockets. The top eyelids should come down almost to the vertical half-way point of the eyeball and, in resting against the eyeball, should protrude further forward than the bottom lids. I hope that makes sense.

4. There may be a small issue with the corners of the mouth, but not 100% on that.