Another 'paste flipped pose' armature problem

Hi, I’m pretty new to Blender, I’m on a game internship, and I’ve been stuck on this problem for days now. I’ve got a problem with pasting the flipped pose on my armature of a huskie, damn near essential for a walk cycle. I’ve tried proper bone naming and the ‘ctrl n’ thing not to mention aligning the mesh and armature globally and locally and still I’m tearing my hair out in frustration. Every time I copy the initial pose and try to paste flipped pose, it just goes all wonky and I just can’t sort it out. Could anyone please take a look at the .blend file attached, try pasting the flipped pose and help me so I don’t become completely bald? I’d be forever grateful. Thanks.

Sambad

Oh, I just tried to upload the file and for some mental reason it doesn’t allow .blend files even though it’s a blender forum. Could someone possibly let me email them this file to look at?

I know the problem. Flipping usually includes Z axis flipping. It happens to me all the time…
peace
Drew

Hi, I’m not sure what you mean, could I please send you the file for you to look at? Thanks.

Sambad

What I saw was that it would anly work as expected if the skeleton, with a 0 rotation, is facing forward (on z), so in other words Y is up. you can still use the object rotation after it is set correctly in edit mode.

Post it to 4shared.com or one of many other free hosting sites, then post the link here.

Mike

Thanks Mike, you’re a lifesaver. Thanks as well to Drew and bookeater too, unfortunately this didn’t work either though.

Sam

Sam,

Don’t call me a lifesaver before I even do anything :slight_smile:

Anyway, you didn’t post the correct link. After you upload your file, you should see a list of files “explorer style in a window”, click on the file name and another screen will appear, in the middle of the screen, under the ‘General’ tab should be a box with a ‘Download link’ . Copy that link and then paste it here.

Mike