Anthropomorphic horse character

This is my anthropomorphic horse character, Brallion. My objective is to have an animatable character with hair and clothes. I chose an ambitious project as a way of teaching myself many of Blender’s concepts. I’m still pretty new to much of what Blender has to offer. The model is mostly done.

I’d love to hear impressions you get of this character. I’m asking for critique, too. (I LOVE critique, positive or negative; don’t be afraid to tell me what you like or don’t like). Sugestions are entirely welcome.

The next step I’m going to take will be the UV wrapping. Followed by hair, rigging and clothing.

Thanks!

Attachments

cool. I think that muscle on his neck looks a bit strained though, it seems like the neck should be rounder.

Thanks for the input! I’ve tweaked the neck slightly and I think I’ve found a good trade-off. I’ve also tweaked the face some.

Attachments

Here’s a rough look at what I intend for the mane and tail.

Attachments

And here he is with texture! I opted to use textures and not UV wrap my character.

Attachments

hey thats coming along good! i like the hair test, good shape there. Eye is modelled nicely and texture seems to be good. I noticed the renders are a bit dark though, and the texture/vertex paint is causing the forearms/hands to be very hard to see.

Look forward to where you take this! very unique character

Thanks for your input! I’ve worked at fixing the issues you mentioned. Let me know if this is better.

Attachments

Here are the shoes.

Attachments

And some teeth for the horsie!

Attachments

looking good. for the shading, at least where his fur is, you might want to try using the minnaert shader with the dark value lowered slightly, which will give it a sort of sheen, not unlike a horse.

Looks great so far. My only crit would have to be that his (or is it a her) neck looks a bit square.