Antonov An-225 Mirya

Hello all,

I recently got into Blender, and I’ve been trying to work my way up the food chain of difficulty. For my latest effort and first WIP I’ve decided to try and create an Antonov 225. My aim at this stage is simply to create as accurate a model as my skill permits (I should point out that I’ve been using Blender for about two months, and I’m a programmer by trade :eyebrowlift2:).

The reason why I chose the 225 was because it’s a unique plane, and it didn’t hurt that I was able to find a lot of good reference material.

I’ve attached what it should look like and where I’m at, so it’s early days still. Any tips will be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

Looking great so far… are you planning on texturing it as well, perhaps even a short animation?

Keep it up!

Well…so far it looks good…you must texture it too… it’ll look superb…and how about some more views next time you update it? Perhaps a few angled views and renders…

@leojS - texturing, definitely. Anim, maybe.

I’ve got the wings and tail on, and I’ve done a bit more work on the fuselage. My problem at the moment is the top of it between the wings since I have a top view blueprint drawing, but no photos of that area. Probably not such a big issue in the long run since the top isn’t going to be particularly visible, so I’ll just have to do what I can.

Attachments

From your wires I gather your model is subsurfed… a small tip though with your wireframe images. If you enable… argh, what’s it called… OptimalDraw in the Subsurf options for your wireframe object (if you’ve done it the way I think you have), the wires will appear subsurfed without the internal faces. Make sure the Zoffs is quite low too, about 0.08.