Any lawyers?

I mentioned in another thread that I saw an eBay auction where someone was selling these “rare” music scores for big bucks. They were transciptions (or arrangements if you will) of works done by long dead composers like Saint-Saens, Sousa, and Bizet for the piano. The guy who did them, Horowitz, has been dead for almost 20 years. All the guy on ebay did was print out a pdf (which everyone has ;)), gave them a cheap plastic binding thingy and sold them for lots of money ($250-600), thereby making a SHITLOAD of profits.

Ok, is this legal?

I am not a lawyer

but, if these things aren’t copyrighted [and other intellectual propertly laws, like trademarks don’t get in the way, which seems unlikely here] then yes, it is.

however, in the US, copyrights expire like 75 years after the author dies or something else rediclous. the next copyrights to expire will be in 2012, or perhaps 2020 [I forget offhand].

at least I’ve got plenty of time to plan about how I will celebrate when copyrights for things like happy birthday start to expire.

the original reason of copyright was to protect the creator for a period of time enough to make some money off it.

then it was designed to make things go public domain (on purpose) to protect the cultural herritage of the people effected by the thing.

however the US are retards and have bastardised it into “corperations own the world” and neglected the intention of copyrights.

mickey mouse is an example of one that should have been public domain decades ago (by original laws).

Valarking, unfortunatly i don’t think its illegal in the US, (unless he is misleading customers or false advertising).

in my country if he were considered a bussiness then yes it would be illegal, but as a private citizen through ebay no it wouldn’t even be illegal here.

you should start to do it too if its working so well for that guy, (do it better than him though)