Any tips for a new user migrating from Maya to Blender?

Hi guys,

I’m a long time professional user/owner of Lightwave and Maya but I can’t keep spending money on upgrades just to keep up with the features ‘arms race’. So that’s it, for once and all I’m diving into Blender.
I’ve bought the Essential Blender book and am going through it. I like [very much] what I see so far. I’m not sure if you guys who have only used Blender, realise how ‘cutting edge’ Blender’s feature list is?

I’m just posting really, to see if there are any other users in a similar position to myself. And to see if there are any tricks or hints to get into the user interface of Blender faster (I’m impatient to use all the great features :eyebrowlift:)?

To kick things off, so far the snapping in Blender seems a bit ‘clunky’ to me as it’s a two part process (cursor to selection -> other object to cursor) In maya I can hold down the ‘v’ key for vertex snap as I move selections around and it snaps to the vert I’m nearest to.
Does Blender have something like this? Or do I have to use the 3D cursor?

No knowledge of Maya, but I’m sure you will use the Blender Manual.

You can snap selections to vertices by clicking this button:
http://img225.imageshack.us/img225/8426/snapbuttonlz6.th.jpg

And then when moving a selection hold down ctrl to snap it to other vertices.

Edit: I don’t have the official blender 2.46 all I have is svn so if this is not in the official version It will be in 2.47 that will be released soon.

I was jumped into 3d world with Maya. it was my first 3d experience. but after one year I just realized that it TOO complicated for a beginner. Many confusing UI layouts and menus . I found it a very professional and complicated tool which fit the requirements of a Hollywood sized studios With millions of dolors budget an thousands of artists and developers. Not fore a single one how wants to learn 3D.