Any tips on efficient weapon modeling with no ngons?

Just looking to speed up my work flow using addons or just techniques I’ve never really used. Trying to learn to work more non-destructively.

1 Like

I’m not experienced in modeling weapons particularly but any otherwise valid modeling technique should apply ?

1 Like

Yeah certainly. I just don’t like to say “hard surface” because I think people tend to assume I mean robots or futuristic looking default cubes. I have hardops and boxcutter and they seem to be powerful tools but I haven’t quite gotten the hang of them. I’m looking not just to make something that looks good but also to keep everything really clean and professional as I’m trying to put together an impressive modeling portfolio that shows that I can offer clean topology and easy to work with, organized, blend files.

1 Like

I see. I usually discourage people from using these addons for several reasons and I’ll say the same to you : they rely heavily on booleans and hiding away the topology from the user. Booleans as you may know generate ngons and that’ll only work on perfectly flat surfaces, so for most actual objects you might want to model they won’t help you much. If you’re going for the game industry you’ll also want to generate low-res versions of your guns and for that you simply need the topology knowledge. The way to go is identify tension lines, define them using as little polygons as possible, connect these as cleanly as possible, then only focus on giving the whole more definition, define curvature, pinching, and so on…

1 Like

Cool, thanks for the info!

That really is the problem, these are general statements on what is needed, but the trick is, how exactly you do this with a hard surface model using “pure quads” without ending up with a total mess of polygons to cater for the various details.