Any way to "carve out" on object?

Hello,

For starters please be kind - I am a TOTAL Noob. I’ve done some of the tutorials and searched extensively on google for what I want to be able to do. From what I can tell the closest tool the Blender has is the Boolean tool - which doesn’t do quite what I want.

What I would like to do is basically “cookie cut” a chunk out of an object at the depth I desire. The reason for this is that for my own enjoyment I am building a set of PVC parts (as in real world PVC tubes and connectors - you know the white plastic tubing used for plumbing)

So far I can have a nice “tube”, a “T” and a cross. I can use the parts as is, but I would like to make them a bit more “real” by making them completely hollow. But the T and the Cross (built simply with two tubes each) block off the hole. So I want to “drill out” the hole. In the Cross I need to cut out circles from 4 walls, and on the “T” I need to cut out 3 walls (really 2 half walls and 1 full wall).

I hope the following picture helps:

http://pictures.chronofish.com/pvcTubes.JPG

Thanks for any help you may be able to share,

-CF

Extrusion will be your friend, as well as resizing along normals (ALT-S). Select the outer faces of your tube, hit E to extrude, right-click to abort translation, resize faces along normals using ALT-S. Done.

Yes, that’s exactly what booleans are for. However, you’re missing the important boolean shape to cut with: the hole.

You should have

1. A (single) piece of the PVC tube, and a regular cylindar with radius the size of the hole to cut. Also make sure that the number of sections around the tube and hole are the same.
  2. Arrange the ‘hole’ 90 degrees to your tube and cut.

For the cross: duplicate the tube with the hole in it (your new object), and rotate it 90 degrees. Viola!