Anybody else here play MYST IV?

I just started playing the game two days ago. It’s pretty sweet. The graphics are just amazing, and it’s fun and challenging, too. I was just wondering if anyone else has played it.http://www.gamasutra.com/features/20050421/livingworld.jpghttp://m.boonty.com/gamesimages/407_de_sc2.jpg

is it pre-rendered? or is it a full 3D?

I’m pretty sure it is a mix.

I have played this and, while I enjoyed it to an extent, it really isn’t the best Myst game. I think Riven is probably the best, closely followed by the original Myst, then probably Myst III and Myst IV. I haven’t played Myst V, so I can’t say anything about that one.

It is a beautiful game, though.

Er…that last screenshot is from URU…

Myst IV is pre-rendered with a few realtime FX. It’s a pretty cool engine, and most of the effects work pretty well. I could do without some of them.

The graphics in Myst IV are quite good. The story, however, leaves a lot to be desired (especially near the end) and the acting and dialog is very bad indeed. One of the characters actually says, “This is SO not good.” No, I’m not making that up. If you want to leave the game with a good aftertaste, I’d suggest skipping the Serenia age altogether, unless you’re a big fan of Pretty Pony, New Age, really bad Star Trek, and LSD. Seriously.

I was actually kind of sad that Myst V was all real time rendering. I got too used to the beautiful pre-rendered graphics of all the previous games.

And yeah, Serenia is a bit messed up for a Myst world theme. Although I suppose it technically does fit, since you are supposed to be able to write anything you can imagine into existence.

Uru was weird. It involved too much keyboard skill, like jumping onto a specific ledge. In order to solve some of the puzzles, I had to keep trying. Little things kept messing me up like falling off cliffs.