Anyone else get annoyed when people confuse you with a Graphic Designer

They somehow assume that because you are a 3D artist that its the same thing as a graphic designer. They assume that you like to design packaging, and logos, and products from the ground up. Because 3D artist = Graphics designer… NO! It does not. Im not a designer, i can make 3D renders of your products or visualize designs that you hand to me. DIFFERENCE!
:stuck_out_tongue:

4 Likes

I get annoyed as well, dude. I feel you

2 Likes

All that you can really do is to explain once again what it is that you do, and don’t do. That you can show them exactly what their product would look like sitting on a grocery-store shelf (complete with the shelf …), but you’re not the one to originally determine what the product should look like.

Try to make that clear in your initial advertising. Maybe, as you describe and showcase recently-completed work, explain what your actual role in it was … and, wasn’t. Show them a bit of what your client gave you to start with, and if you want to “give a nod” to that designer, that’s probably okay too. (Check your contract …)

3 Likes

yup, or they think you’re a video game programmer sometimes.

1 Like
  • I am a 3D artist.
  • So you are a graphics designer?
  • No I am a 3D graphics designer.
  • So you are a graphics designer but in 3D?
  • No I am a 3D artist, I make 3D designs, but not a graphics designer.
2 Likes

The worst part is that they argue with you about what you do for a living. How ignorant is that! They also ask you why you do not use Adobe products for “graphics design”. It’s hard to explain to them that Adobe doesn’t make software that caters to 3D modeling because of how close-minded they are.

1 Like

TBF they tried, they just failed. So they acquired substance instead.

By close-minded I was referring to the people who think 3D is graphics design not Adobe. The closest thing to 3D that Adobe currently has (as far as I know) is Adobe Dimensions.