Appenently, blender is regarded as a steep learning curve

stumbled across this video mentioning blender with a steep learning curve, i personally found blender easy to use… what do you think?

It depends how you look at it. When I started learning blender, it was also the first time I did 3d usrface modeling. So it was very hard for me and I gave up a couple of times, mostly because my motivation dropped as I just wanted to learn 3d and didn’t really know what to model. One day I decided I really wanted to learn it and not give up, so I bought the vehicle modeling series, which came out around that time and followed the whole thing step by step until I felt that I knew what I needed to know. The hardest part about modeling is the actual modeling. How to solve topology problem, hoe to make sure there isn’t any weird pinching in the shading, etc. Learning blender’s interface is easy compared to that.

For someone who already has 3d modeling experience, I guess it will be different. But for most people, this will probably not be the case, so when they saythat blender’s learning curve is steep, they probably mean that 3d is hard…

In the context of this video, which is just making a model for 3D printing, Sketch-Up would certainly be easier for most people. Even if you’d never used Sketch-Up you would probably be able to model that Lego piece in an hour. To do the same in Blender, you’d need patience and probably a lot of tutorials before being comfortable enough with Blender in order to model the same thing.

Blender is not an application people can pick up and use quickly – with or without prior 3D experience. It takes a significant time investment to learn it, thus it indeed does have a steep learning curve.

just because of one random video on youtube doesn’t change it all…
i mean c’mon guys haven’t we discussed this already?