Apple...

My first post here at Elysiun.

First, it has been a real pleasure lurking the boards looking at some incredible work here (and getting inspired every time i visit!)

This is my first “real” piece of work in blender outside of the occasional learning curve type of stuff. I was following Landis’ tutorial on his method of texturing, and fell in love with his apple, so i decided i had to try this method to have my very own apple!

I have a little work to do on the texture, as I am not happy with it yet, and I am still learning GIMP as well, so… c&c’s are definitely welcome!
http://pdavid.sytes.net:8080/apple2.jpg

I cant see picture…

Address:
http://pdavid.sytes.net:8080/apple2.jpg

It looks pretty much fine, except for the texture which is very blurry.

Also, it needs some backlighting.

Welcome, I am sure you’ll learn plenty.

Your apple entry (with some modifications) can join the weekend challenge (look at the last forums for the ‘Weekend Challenge’).

As for the apple itself, although it’s a bit dark (intentional?) I think its very good. Try adding some background.

oooh, a Weekend challenge? I’ll definitely check it out!

The darkness of the scene was one thing that I wanted to recreate from Landis’ tutorial. Visually the setup was very appealing to me, which is pretty much why I didnt include any other type of background or a second light beyond the intial spot. When I was taking a photography course years ago, there was a series of pepper photographs by a photographer that was setup in pretty much the same way, and I also fell in love with those. One vegetable, one light, one camera, and you saw peppers in a whole new way. :slight_smile:

So yes, the darkness is intentional here. :wink: