Applying rig scatters the objects.

I’ve made an aircraft model from several objects and was about to link the armature to the objects when this happened :S

I just started learning rigging, it all went okay at the beginning however the automatic weights did some weird stuff.

Can I ask why you are rigging this? Does it have a lot of moving parts?

This is one of those instances where your just going to have to post a blend file…

One thing you can check:
Before applying the armature (and even before you parent your objects to a rig) select all your mesh objects and go to the Object menu > Apply > Rotation & Scale.

The four wings can move up and down.

There it is: http://www.pasteall.org/blend/19814

Can’t find that.

Maybe you should try it the other way around. Open a new blend file add the armature first then append the plane into the new file. Append F1 or go through the menu file list. Good luck.

At the bottom of the 3D View there are three menus: View, Select and Object. Just click on Object and you’ll see it.

So? Already solved by joining some of the objects but I’d like to know what was the cause of the error.

You’re very welcome.

Okay looking at your file …

however the automatic weights did some weird stuff.

You do not have an Armature in this file for any Automatic weights to be applied too…
no Armature… no weights… (at least none that will effect animation)

you have 35 objects named cube… in an object this complex you need to have a name for each and every object… even if it’s Left Front wing ding thing… at least then you can easily look at a object name and have some idea of what it is…
my scenes are filled with Widgets, hootuses, dingledungs, whatnots, and thingOberries…

It appears that many if not all or your objects have been moved and rotated into position in Object mode and not in Edit mode… This can cause lots of problems during Animation… the easiest way to fix this is to select all your Objects… (in Object mode) then…