Aray with deformation object

Hi Guys,

I have a small problem (take a look at the picture). I want to create an Array with a certain object. But whatever I try, my object always deforms when using an oval Nurbscircle. I want no deformation of my object. It should stay like tthe sample object in the middle of the oval. I hope it is only one setting I have to change.

Who can help.

Thanks in advance,

Paul :smiley:

Try duplifaces or dupliframes http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Modeling/Objects/Duplication/DupliFaces

Hi JA12,

Thanks for your reply, but it doesn’t seem to work when using a circle or nurbscircle.
I am not that experienced with Blender. I think I need a decent tutorial.

Paul

Both methods used here. The goal is to get a flattened cube around a nurbs circle without distorting the shape (if I understood correctly)

Duplifaces:

• Instead of arraying the cube and using curve deform to get it around, use a plane (1)
  • then parent the cube to the plane and enable duplifaces for the plane (object properties -> duplication: faces) (2)
  • that puts a cube on each plane face. The planes are distorted but the cubes are not

Dupliframes

• Curve has path animation frames set to 9 in curve properties (object data properties)
  • Cube is parented to the curve
  • Cube has its duplication set to frames and speed option is unchecked
  • That puts the cube on each frame on the curve (3). If you check ‘follow’ option on curve properties -> path animation, cubes will orientate along the curve

duplifaces_dupliframes_ja12.blend (94.9 KB)

… or, since you already have planes go around the path - set Duplication = Faces on Obj tab for the plane, create object you want to duplicate on the Origin point of the path and parent Object to plane by selecting Object, Shift select plane and Crtrl-P, Parent.

http://www.pasteall.org/pic/75722