architectural modeling and blender

ok sorry if thise belongs on another post, but i think its cool here…

I am an architect and in my office our models are done in autocad. Ive been testing blender for the past week and <duh> i like it.

Buuuut, i cant seem to get my autocad models into blender short of .3ds’ng em in. That is a total BEAR cuz i gotta save the models into little .3ds size bits and .3ds doesnt always export quite right.

Whenever i try to .dxf import i ALWAYS end up with the “error parsing dxf, blah blah blah” problem -even in 2.4- (couldnt find a solution for that in other posts btw). i saved it in different .dxf formats and even used the opendwg alliance program - nothing worked.

Im at the point where i need to decide if

1. i wll EVER be able to get the .dxf thing to work with the big complex 3d soldids/faces/meshes files we create or

2. i need to investigate whether or not i can just model solely in bleder, that means interpreting 2d acad dwgs into blender and 3dmodeling off of them…is it possible to precisely model a building off of dwgs with blender? are there any known related tutorials for such a concept?..it needs to be dead nuts accurate cuz we model EVERYTHING structure, piping, walls etc and study the outcome in a 4d format.

FINAL PROBLEM - when i finally get a building into blender (with cite and stuff) it is sooo big that the viewport clips the heck out of it. i crank up the clip settings and i get nothing…so i endup rescaling the model by .01 !!! i dont like that, it doesnt seem like a good thing.

what are ur thoughts blender geniuses?

I don’t think Blender is what you’re looking for, at least not for modeling. Blender is for visualization, animation, and doesn’t offer good tools for accurate modeling like a real CAD application.

Importing DXF or 3DS models doesn’t work perfect and I wouldn’t rely on it in a business situation.