Are community colleges useful?

I’ve been teaching myself Blender and learning about the video game industry in my free time, but I started worrying that there might be gaps in my knowledge, so I enrolled in a degree for Simulation and Video Game Development at a local community college. I don’t have the money to go somewhere expensive, and I’ve seen lots of advice from people I respect to avoid paying a lot of money for a degree. I thought a cheaper school might round me out and direct me toward what I need to learn next without breaking my piggy bank.

However, my experience so far has not been good. I’m learning some useful techniques in my photoshop class and gaining a lot of confidence in my skills, but it’s entirely self taught. The teacher literally hasn’t taught me anything. I just read the book and do the assignments on my own. These assignments are riddled with typos and self contradictions. In the other introductory class, I’m already way past everything they’re teaching. My teacher wants me to use some antique program called Wings3D to do the assignments, and he refused to let me use Blender or any other modern software instead. If it were Maya, I might understand his logic, but it’s just so backwards and I have to wonder if he just doesn’t know how to use any other programs himself.