Are more meshes stuck together better then a single mesh?

In my last model I spent a fair bit of time making my model so that it was “comprised” of one mesh. What I mean by this is when making the barrel of the gun I didn’t just inset a cylinder on the front of the gun and join the two but rather deleted the front of the gun, aligned the barrel with the gun, deleted the front of the gun, and proceeded to join every vertex individually.
After watching a few speed builds I realized that a lot of people don’t do this and after some refection realized that this method may actually make the model “easier to run” as in many cases there will not be as many triangles to break up a surface.
Are there advantages to taking the extra time to remove the unseen portions of a mesh, or am I just wasting my time in doing so. (It might make it easier to texture depending on the mythology, or it might just make the UV map harder to read.)
While I may be a newb, I am not a total newb so this is assuming that the model will not be rigged (aka a gun or tool that is not going to move). I don’t know how to rig myself, but I can imagine unattached portions of a model playing havoc with the rig.

Depends on what it is. Human skin is comprised of one part. Machines are always many parts. Unless it’s really advanced science. Then anything goes.

If appearances are all that matter then why should it all be one piece? On the other hand a rig needs to move within physics to some degree.