Are there enough Australian blenders to warrant a conferance?

Anyone here from Australia? is there enough people here to get together a confrence I am in Melbourne say hi if your from OZ would be cool to meet like minded renderes excpecially to learn off, or any good course anyone would recomend for us starting out in 3d modelling I am thinking of going on a basic drawing course as my darwing is not good.

I am in Victoria, about 3-4 hours drive from Melbourne. I think you should change the title of this thread to something more informative, such as “Australian blenderererererers?” (slightly better) or “Are there enought Australian blenders to warrant a conferance?” (more betterar).

Oh, and (please don’t take this as an insult) would you be able to capitalise things properly? It does make a difference, in both making the reading a little easier, and what people think of you.

australia is make-believe, like leprechauns and eskimos.

.b

sorry I am not very good at grammer I have tried to improve. Would you like to meet up to discuss work ideas? How long have you been rendering for?

Just tell me where and I’ll (try to) be there!!!

Australia has actually hosted a conference in the before. In 2004 myself and Levon did all the organisation and held a big conference at the Australian Institute of Technology in Sydney.

I would say there are certainly enough users to warrant a conference, I suppose we had probably 40-50 attendees over the two days. I’d be interested in helping organise another Aussie Blender conference, however I do live in Brisbane.

If you are serious about organising such an event, I highgly recommend AIT as a venue again, as they have many computer labs as well as projection equipment, and they actually teach animation. They also have a motion capture studio.

Don’t underestimate the logistical problems involved with organising such an event, as you will invariably have people flying in from other states given the size of Aus.