Arm bending the wrong direction in pose mode

Welcome,

I’m quite new to rigging in blender so plz note that thanks.
So I have found some other posts including similiar problems but they never explained how does the process work. I have a problem with a character model with armature and IK bones. The legs work fine, knees bend the right way. However whenever I want to move my arm chain using the arm IK bone They bend under an angle. I found out that doing some adjustments (like changing bone roll of some arm bones in edit mode or playing with the pole angle) fixes this problem but the effects are not “clean”, not perfect. (For instance, the arm is all twisted and back is a bit deflated)

I also tried moving the “Knee” bone and “elbow” bone to change the potential extent to which the arms bend. Is the position of these bones important? Can I place them anywhere on the X axis (maintaining the Y and Z coordinates to keep the extent)?

On the pictures I hid leg bones to make them seem more clear.

First image shows my settings for the Constraint
Second image shows the arm lifted only on the Z axis (vertically) using the IK arm bone
Third image shows the arm lifted even more (over the IK target which is called “elbow”)

Just to be clear: my problem is with the arm bending under a weird angle. I would want it to bend in line of the (vertical) Z axis.

I would like to attach a blender file but apparantely its impossible for “new users”

I would really appreciate some help with this as fine tuning the bones manually takes some time and doesnt even guarantee perfect results.

Thanks (in advance) for any support.