Armature and gravity

(cnikiel) #1

I am a newbie to Blender so please excuse if this is an easy question. Have searched for it in blenderartist but have not found an answer yet.

Is it possible to put a force (like gravity) on an armature?
The problem I have is this, I have a tube (e.g. a rope) connected on both sides to objects and I would like to simulate the slag in the rope due to gravity.

Currently I have the tube attached on both side and the armature is bulging the rope UP not DOWN (the attachment on one object is a bit up, guess that make this the easier armature position).

So the question would be how to apply gravity on the armature, so that it actually curves down like with gravity.

Thanks for any advice.

CarsteN

0 Likes

(Siluno) #2

mmm…not as far as I know. Haven’t played around enough with Blender’s dynamics to be 100% sure. As an alternative, I would recommend a soft body to the object itself. That has gravity on it and you can pin it to the other object.(Also add stiffness so that it looks like a rope, and self collision) That should work, unless there is a specific reason why you want it to be an armature?

0 Likes

(cnikiel) #3

Well I am using an armature as I have pinned the tube on both side to objects.
I would like to be able to move those objects and keep the tube connected at all times.
For that I am using an IK Solver (with the two objects as targets)

Would that also be possible with softbody?
Right now I do not seem to be able to wrap my head around the concept properly.

Well, guess that’s why I am newbie :wink:

0 Likes

(Siluno) #4

Could you maybe include a picture so that it’s a bit more clear?

0 Likes

(cnikiel) #5

Not right away, as I am not at my home PC :slight_smile:
But I will certainly have something up here later today.

Thanks for your time.

0 Likes

(cnikiel) #6

Hi here I am again.
In these two picture I show the top and side view of the project I am work on.