Article: Silo and Blender

Hello, I’m new to modeling and trying out Blender and Silo to see the differences. Both are highly regarded for modeling.

You can find my thoughts on my website in an article titled “Modeling in Blender and Silo.”

link http://boder.us

I hope you enjoy it. Feel free to spank me if say anything wrong. It will be updated frequently so stay tuned on this WIP.

Edit: Creating Outline of Topics, Restructuring Later

I’ve done a bunch of work on the article.

Reorganization and proofreading is still needed.

You should note which program is which in the proportional editing (watch the pic).

Is there n-gons in silo?

AFAIK you can use more than 6 subsurfaces in Blender 2.4 because they are stackable so you can put a lot of them if you need to to. Not recommended though.

How does the partial subdivision feature of silo work? What advantages does it give for the user?

About mirroring: 2.4 makes mirroring a lot easier than earlier versions. No need to hassle with duplicate copies anymore. Since they are stackable, it is possible to add mirroring to the axis you need. Very good feature.

What kind of UV mapping tools does Silo have? You might want to check out the upcoming live LSCM for Blender part of that comparison.

What kind of materials does Silo have? Does it support Renderman?

Can I make scripts for Silo like for Blender?

Does Silo have sculpting features?

Yes.

What kind of UV mapping tools does Silo have? You might want to check out the upcoming live LSCM for Blender part of that comparison.

Rumours are that Silo 2.0 will have something comparable (pelt mapping?)

I haven’t read the whole thing yet but I can see two things already: