Artists and Coders - The Teamwork Factor

Hello.

Im currently working on the environment for a project of mine. You could say Im and environment/texture/props artist.

What I was wondering is how professionals collaborate in a production environment? And most specificly, are there any guidelines towards the environment artists that they need to follow before they present their work to a coder.
…Or what are the top tips or rules you follow before you present a ready model/terrain/prop to a coder.

I hope this makes sense.

Cheers.

I am by no means an expert on this topic.

Most major companies that develop games have multiple teams working on different things. For example, your position (environment designer), would have en entire team working on it, which takes a lot of coordination. You need to coordinate yourselves. Make sure you are all working on the right things at the right time and have the same expectations of the result. The best thing you could probably do is work on concept art before presenting it. http://www.youtube.com/user/FZDSCHOOL has some great tips on concept art.
When presenting the models for “coding”, however, make sure that the objects are in the right file format (max, obj, 3ds etc.), properly UV unwrapped and has all the textures with it. This will make the coders’ lives much easier – ask them what they want you to do with the objects.

I think this should be of some help if I understood you correctly. :slight_smile:

“Coding” implements the behavior model while “modelling” implements the presentation model.

Both are development steps at the same level of abstraction. With well defined interfaces they should work pretty independently from each other. At any time they can text their work against this interface even when there are just mockups at the other side (e.g. cubes rather then high detailed characters or characters with standing animation without complex behavior)