Artt is cheap....

I’ve been working in cg since 1994… right now I’m doing some portfolio work… and of course am looking at the state of the market…

it seems to me that “technique” is now commonplace. Technical prowess is often put to the fore… often over artistic considerations.

so now what makes something art rather than product?,

I’ve always held the cynical line that all art is “product”… it’s all targeting an audience in a self conscious way if it is to achieve any kind of acclaim…

look at damien hurst, gilbert and george, jeff koons…

I had the pleasure of “working” with Nilo Rodis (* a costume designer who became a producer for john hughes, he designed boba fett, buzz lightyear and the klingon bird of prey fron the star trek movies as well as being production designer on johnny mnemonic though he hates to be reminded of that one…)

He re-defined my understanding of the term “IP”,. to subscribe, IP is NOT about copyright or patents, it is to define something so fully that everything that follows gets compared to it…

people start to define themselves in deference to it…

(It;s like the matrix… meets aliens…) as an example…

I’m not sure what this all means, just it seems to me that a high degree of artistic talent is “globally” pretty commonplace so “marketability” or uniqueness that gives the agents something to sell is the key to success…

you don’t have to be the best, you just have to be unique(ish) and crack some kind of demographic for appeal…

yet still most artists try to emulate other peoples’s work (MYSELF INCLUDED) rather then to innovate …

sorry if this is just a “stream of conscious…” but plesase discuss.