Atoms bear parm script, adusting to XYZ mesh .. to animate a XYZ-function surface

It looks like I am a sorcerers apprentice, doing but not really knowing what I do … :evilgrin:

But to some degree succeeded already:
There are three objects-types in the picture.
The startup Cube, the default XYZ (the shell) object and and a third created by by Alt A
(the frame rate used to change location, will become more complicated …)
(the drivers result) different (because in an UI the x_eq is replaced by something simple)

What I need to accomplish: remove old newly created objects and make it ‘animate’ …

My horrible script can be seen here: http://www.petergragert.info/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Animation/XYZVersion01

Attachments

I think it looks real cool!

One thing that will not work is your use of the the context in line # 455 and other places in the script.

bpy.context.scene.objects.link(ob)
While it will work during GUI operations (i.e. under the MainThread) it will fail when you try to render an animation sequence (in a Dummy thread) or with Yafaray.

Rewrite the line like this…

bpy.data.scenes[0].objects.link(ob)

The fall out of this re-write is that you will be operating upon scene #0 explicitly. If you have multiple scenes in your project, the animated objects must reside in scene #0 for them to render.

That is what def returnScene is all about.

def returnScene (passedIndex = 0):
    try:
        return bpy.data.scenes[passedIndex]
    except:
        return None

myScene = returnScene()  #Note: I could pass an alternate index here.
if myScene != None:
     myScene.objects.link(ob)
else:
   # I am probably rendering.
    pass

By making all your scene references via returnScene, you can simply alter the pass index in one place (or forward it from a custom property in your object) to render animated objects that reside in difference scenes.