Audi TT

Decided to make a car that not too many other people have modeled. I’m trying to focus on clean topology, but I’m self-taught, so its needless to say not perfect. This was the first day (just about an hour) of setup and modeling.

Attachments

Not too bad, continue on and post some edit-mode pictures(wires)…
Also look up what topography means… :stuck_out_tongue:
It is topology that you meant to say…clean topology not topography :slight_smile:

lol sorry typed that fast

while using optimal draw on subsurf, my modeling techniques work well. I think :wink:

Attachments

for starters the front wheel arch isn’t flat at the top it has a nice smooth curve. and its’ better to model without the sub surf to start with just concentrate on the topology there’s areas that could be improved upon. have a look at tyrant monkey’s hour a day thread for a great example of good topology

I know the wheel well is curved, didn’t get to that section yet. Also I model without subsurf untill I have a section done, say the headlights and the grill, then add subsurf to get the edge creases correct.

Cleaned up some parts. Day 2 of progress. Still working my way on cleaning up some edges.

Attachments

Ok so when showing the wires, either do it like this…http://vimeo.com/5659666
Or take a screenshot of the edit mode.
General rule of thumb for clean topology is not having triangles so try to stay away from them. (i think i see a couple on the wheel arks)

That looks good so far. I see something that disturb me around the front lights.

The edges dont quite line up completely, once I add the interior of the lights it will look more solid.

And DDD I’m working on the triangle thing, they are not exactly triangles, but quadrilaterals with one very small side :stuck_out_tongue:

I’ll get a new pic up in a bit using that wireframe tutorial. Thanks everyone for the feedback.