Augmented Reality Plug-in

Hello,

I’m a University undergraduate going into my final year this coming September and I have been looking into final-year project ideas. I’ve been interested in trying my hand at 3D modeling and I am also intrigued by augmented reality. After searching around it seems Blender is a great open-source 3D modeler, complete with game engine and there are various augmented reality frameworks around.

What I haven’t came across is a standard/straight forward way of combining interactive 3D models/games/physics with augmented reality technology. There appears to have been a few attempts that have withered away, but nothing substantial or satisfactory.

Am I right in thinking that there is no real augmented reality/blender plug-in that is readily available/usable? Would there be a demand for such a thing or was it found to be a non-starter?

I haven’t delved into the Blender API documentation yet, but I imagine it’s quite possible to programmatically move a 3D model and apply physics to colliding objects etc? Ideally, at the end of my project I would like to be able to demonstrate two objects positioned over markers that, upon smashing the markers together, the objects react by crumbling or bouncing off each other.

Thanks for your time,

-Ross

someone made something working, but the website is down.
blenderartists tread here: http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=111101&highlight=ARToolkit

have a look at Ashs website

he is actually still busy with that. I would say it would be really great if somebody get blender working with Artoolkit or even better with artoolkit plus. I mean in a simple and straight forward way!

if you are making something with augmented reality and blender please let us now!

From what I’ve gathered it seems the current solution is non-portable and not too straight forward to use.