Auto-align / manual align of geometric elements

Heya there,

Blender is cool. Way cool. I wish I could use it with more proficiency, though I’m not an artist but a programmer… Oh well :slight_smile:

Anyway, I’m trying to make an aquarium… Actually, I’m experimenting with blender since I want to make an aquarium simulator, thus possibly I’ll be using the game engine in the future… Anyway…

Since I want that effect in/between in walls of the aquarium, I’m doing it with 5 sheets of transparent glass (with a bit of refraction). My problem is with the alignment of these sheets. Suppose I make a cube, and then scale it to a rectangular solid. Then I duplicate it, mirror it, and put these on in front of the other. These will be the fron and back walls of the aquarium. Now, to make the sides, I want them to be of the exact same thick the other ones. So I duplicate the front wall, rotate it 90º, and now I must rescale and translate it so it will fit between the two already existing walls.

So, my problem is this: how do I scale the new object so it snaps to t.he edges of other objects? More simply, how can I translate a vertex so it occupies the exact same absolute position another vertex from another object it occupying?

Maybe I’m doing the wrong approach here. Maybe I should first use some boolean operations of two cubes to get an hollow aquarium, and then make new faces ans vertexes, and split the object. Or maybe there is a way (which I don’t know) to use more efficiently the grid and snap vertexes, edges and faces to arbitratry precisions of the grid… Any ideas?

The thing I envision in blender is some kind of auto-snap to objects like in recent versions of Autodesk’s AutoCAD… that would rock!

Another question… Is there any simple way to simulate surface water torbulence inside an aquarium? Maybe the new liquid system?

Thanks in advance!

Hugo Ferreira

Snapping in blender is primitive compared to autocad.

To align verts from different objects: