Background Image Views Mismatch

Hello everyone,

I am new to the world of Blender and 3D models and I have started following the Blender Training Series.

In the beginning of modeling a character using box modeling, I have to set some background images on 3 different views (front, side, back) as reference. I have done that but I am facing a problem that prevents me from following the process properly.

What happens is, although the images have the same height (I mean the original files have the same height) when I put them into Blender the front and side view appear different. I scale both images to 1.000 and set the same Y offset so I can change between views and model, but the image on the side view appears “taller” than the other one. Naturally this means that the mesh I’m creating ends up on a different place so I can’t model correctly.

To make things more clear I am posting two images, one describing the problem from within Blender and another from Photoshop just to show that the images indeed have the same dimensions.

Thanks in advance and have a happy new year.

The image in front view is scaled to 0.86 and not 1

If you check the “Size” property, it’s set on 1.000 for both views. 0.86 is the Y offset.

Thanks for the reply.

I suspect the side image used in the tutorial is not the exact one supplied (in the tutorial the image file looks wider). All background images are loaded so they are 10 blender units wide (with a scale value of 5). If the image widths are different then the heights will be different when loaded into blender even if the image pixel heights are the same. Look at the image pixel widths and scale one accordingly in the background image settings to get the same height in blender

If the image widths are different then the heights will be different when loaded into blender even if the image pixel heights are the same.

Ah so that’s the reason i often observed this frankly bad Blender behaviour in 2.4x, 2.5x and now 2.6x