Bad To The Bone (...or Bad AT Boning)

okay… I know the last thing this place needs is another boning topic, but I’m still learning and a little stumped - what tutorials I’ve seen are too basic or too complex (or incomplete/dead links)…

I’ve been asked to animate a short clip for someone’s movie which involves upper torso movement and lipsync.

http://www.serene-arts.co.uk/saeed/dump1b.jpg

At the moment, I’m using envelopes for simplicity. Would I need to add a seperate bone chain for the tongue (maybe switching to vertex groups - can envelopes and V.groups be mixed?) or do I have to manually create tongue movements with shape keys? The trouble here is the character has a ‘beak’ and long tongue, a separate bone chain seems more logical than Shape Keys for every state. Would an entire mouth rig be a good option?

http://www.serene-arts.co.uk/saeed/dump3b.jpg

Another problem I faced is the ‘pinching’ around the armpit. I’ve experimented with the envelope size and shape to get to a fairly acceptable result, but it still doesn’t look right to me. Should I be adding extra bones for the chest muscles, or would weight painting help…? I thought the idea of envelope range/weight was that there would be a gradual falloff between adjacent deformations, but I can’t see much change with tweaking those. So far, I can only get a barely acceptable look by moving/scaling the actual bone ends, not the falloff.

I appreciate there may be many ways to do this kind of thing - bottom line is I don’t expect particularly realistic results, nor do I want to spend overly long on setting up & producing this shot.

“Any help would be hot”…

Ya, a “boning” topic would probably get locked pretty quickly :smiley:

However, I’m always looking for more rigging / skinning information :slight_smile: