Bake texture to UV Space..

Hello everyone! I’m just beginning to grasp modelling in blender, and I’m taking a peek at texturing for sculpty’s in second life. You’ve probably gotten a lot of these questions, but I don’t think any have this specific question in topic.

For question reference, I’m trying to meld techniques between these two tutorials:
http://www.qarl.com/qLab/?p=18 (utilizes maya, but the idea is what is important)
http://www.bentha.net/sculpted2/Blender-to-sculpted.html (self explanatory url)

If you’re familiar with sculpties, you already know that you need to bake a displacement map to an arranged GRID of vertices (about 64x64 most of the time iirc) by using “Follow Active (quads)” (from tutorial link). That means that instead of having a nice looking unwrapped wireframe that gives you some clue as to how to paint onto it, i.e. you can see eyes and a mouth- all the vertices have been arranged into a 64x64 grid in order to deform the sculpty according to color and placement. It is -very- hard to paint a uv texture onto a grid… ^_^;;

This is where my question comes in to play… so the idea that I’ve basically got is the following:

Unwrap and paint over wireframe guides like you normally would… then somehow recalculate the texture to fit the GRID of points, so it’ll end up looking something like the following ->

Problematically, I have no idea to go about this. Is there a tutorial or a method someone could show me? I’ll be ecstatic if there’s a solution for this in Blender.

Have you tried Render -> Bake Render Meshes -> Textures Only? I think there should be some documentation on render baking in the 2.43 release notes or on the wiki.

Note quite =\ … I need to paint my texture via the usual method, then I need to get blender to somehow reposition the pixels in the image to fit the mesh in a grid formation in the UV window- any way to get the pixels to follow into the new formation?