Baking projected photos onto object texture

Hi all,

I’m completely new to Blender as of yesterday, so apologies if any of this is stupid/obvious.

I am trying to get some clay models converted into 3d models for use in a game. I have used 123D Catch to capture the object’s geometry and texture, but the output is not suitable for game use in its raw form… and so, I turn to Blender.

I’ve followed some tutorials on retopologising, and have managed to build a nice, tidy low poly mesh that follows the geometry of the scanned object. So far, so good! Now, all I have to do is get the photo textures onto the object and I’m all set to go. Unfortunately, it’s at this point that I’ve found myself a bit befuddled.

I seamed and unwrapped the object to create a UV map on a texture page. Great! Now, I just have to somehow get the textures from the photos baked onto my object’s texture. It would be nice if I could somehow just project them straight on from the high-poly model, but if that isn’t possible it would be fine if I could open up some of the source photographs, align them with the object, and project them onto the texture that way. I had a look at some UV Projection tutorials, but, like I say… I’m befuddled.

Ideally I guess I want to load up a photo, have it displayed on screen, line up the model so it matches the angle of the photo (which won’t be orthographic or necessarily straight on), and then bake that projection onto my texture. If I have to do it in several passes and combine multiple textures together in Photoshop, that would be fine (providing each pass bakes the texture onto the same UV map).

I kind of feel like… it should be possible, and maybe I’m nearly there, but I can’t quite put the pieces together. I can’t figure out an easy way to line up the photograph with the model, and I don’t know how to get Blender to bake the texture onto the other texture.