Baking UV textures in 2.57b

Not sure if there is a tutorial or not out there. I see one for normal maps at Blender Cookie.
Pretty much what I’m trying to do is make a high poly model that is textured and unwrapped already(Its a model I ripped from a game). Then I need to have a low poly version but keep the uv textures. Only way I can think of is to bake the high poly texture onto the low poly version but Im not sure how. I’m new to all this baking stuff.
I used the decimate modifier to make it have lower polys.
Please help. Thanks.

Does anyone bake textures from a high poly model even?

This shows baking one texture to another object with different topology and UVs (in this case demonstrated with a mesh that is decimated to create different topology/UVs) http://www.screencast.com/users/blenderwho/folders/Jing/media/8999e39f-0a49-464a-b558-e3ac2bcc8c4f

Thanks but that link didnt work.

Don’t use the decimate mod - it creates chaotic geometry. Also, don’t steal models.

hold on a sec lol. What! Stealing. Im not stealing. What Im doing is legal as far as I know.I could be wrong. Im not selling it or anything and in fact Im only doing this as a favor to someone. I make papercraft models from video games at times for people. I always say what game its ripped from when I released the papercraft. I dont steal models and say they are my own ever. Man thats kinda insulting when you dont know what my Im doing. Thanks:)
So if knowone wants to help thats alright.

Its a model I ripped from a game

Be more specific if you don’t want remarks like mine. I get what you are doing, but come on, your original statement sounds a little rough…

Sorry your right it was a rough. I just read it again. I didnt mention what Im exactly doing. Though I did but I guess I must have left that out. dumb me.