Balls animation

Hi everyone. I’m relativly new to blender. I’ve been using 3ds max for about 2 years, before i decided to switch completely to open source software a moth ago. Windows to linux(ubuntu) transition was nice, photoshop to gimp went good, but 3ds max to blender was a bit painfull, at first. Actually, i first tried blender half a year ago on windows and i was very dissapointed in blender. But i kept exploring it and since i switched to ubuntu linux lately, i decided to go with blender full time. As time went by, i came to a conclusion that blender is not so bad after all, even lightyears ahead of max in some things. And judging by the way it’s developing i think that blender has a really bright future. I got tierd of new versions of 3ds max… buying someone’s elses plugins and making a few minor changes and calling it a new big version. That’s why blender will eventualy beat max, imho anyway.

I’m sure you heard this things millions of times, but i’d like to say a few things which would make blender much more acceptable to first time users switching from other 3d apps:

1.) When you create a new objects, they don’t allign to grid but to users view?? Also when creating new objects, specially cube and plane, you can’t choose size and number of segments. I know all of this can easilly be done in a few more clicks, but really this two things were the main reason why i allmoast uninstalled blender after only 5 minutes. It may be insignificat, but it’s one of the first things everyone tries, and first impression is very crucial, as i understand i’m not the only one who thought of uninstalling blender after only a few minutes. Also it would be nice to have some more mesh primitives to choose from.

2.) Blender should have timeline in seconds, because with frames only some poblems could arise. For example, if you’re doing a precise physical sim and then you later decide to use 30 fps instead of 25fps you could run into some problems.