Bas-relief compositing node patch

This patch was used in the 2.4 version and I was wondering if I can use this patch with 2.62?
I am totally new to Blender and I am slowly beginning to understand how this all works, coming from all engineering CAD side this interface and tools are quite a departure from how I normally work in 3D.

Thank you

This patch won’t work with blender 2.6
See http://comments.gmane.org/gmane.comp.video.blender.devel/32087

Thank you Mr. Marklew.

Do you know of anyway in Blender to take a photograph and add a 2.5D effect to the photo contents so I then can take away an stl file to run through my CAM software and then ultimately carve the file on my CNC router?
I have tried many methods and different programs with no luck whatsoever other than a heightmap, which is not anything like what I need.

Thanks

organic,
Thank you for the link, the idea is very much the same with the exception of I am working from a 2d photo and the link’s poster is working from a 3D model. But I see enough tool ideas in the link to give it a go, I am sure I will have alot more questions when I dive head first into this quest/journey or whatever you want call it.
Tom

Ok, I have been posting some of the findings of this thread over on the CNCZone.com forum and I got some more information from another CNC enthusiast who gave me a link to an updated version of the aforementioned patch and it is for version 2.5. Will this new patch work with Blender 2.62?
Here is the link to the newer version: Issue%205032046%3A%20basrelief%20update%20for%202.5x%20r40258%20-%20Code%20Review&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13307051963113

Maybe have a look at crazybump as well then. If you can make normal/bump map and use that with the displacement modifier you might be able to figure something that works.

@ deadtom
the link does not work !

so this would be a new version of bas relief for 2.6 but done in C not as a script ?