Basic 3D navigation question (rotation center, viewer's location, zooming)

Maybe you won’t believe it but even after searching and reading and searching and reading a lot, I did not find the answer to this basic behavior question.

I’m a newbie but did a lot of modelling the last days (blender 2.42). Though, I’m always “suprised” about how rotation in the 3D window using MMB works. I’m using default trackball setting (not turntable). “User view” is active (menu view -> user) … long story short: Where is the rotation center? How many units is it ahead? It’s never where I expect it, so I am always surprised where rotating takes me. I do know [Num Enter], [Home], [Num .], Shift+F and so on. So, where is the rotation center?

Assuming a scene containing a 5x5x5 box. By rotating, I see that the rotation center is in the middle of the box. I press [Num Enter]. I am some units outside the box facing it. Sometimes I have the problem that zooming, using the mouse wheel, takes the point of view inside the box, but sometimes, even after zooming as much as possible, I am still outside the box. I do not know how to get inside. Why is this? The problem with this is, that at a maximum zoom level, panning the view is almost impossible, ie it gets so slow that it is not usable anymore, so I have to zoom out or press [Num enter] to be able to pan, but this takes me even further away from the box. Consequently I will have to do many pan/rotate/zoom operations til I get where I want.

Is there a window that displays the viewer’s location and the location of the rotation center? I can open the “view properties” but it does not show these values.

In addition, is “zoom” the right word? If my location is outside the box, zooming should magnify the outer side of the box. In my understanding, zooming sually doesn’t change the viewer’s location, but in blender this is obviously the case because after “zooming”, the viewer’s location is inside the box.